My Story

I was born and raised in Colorado Springs, CO. The year was 1983, my mom had my twin sister and me. We were born a little early at 34 weeks. I was only four pounds, and Jessica was three. We had some issues and were in the N.I.C.U. for a few weeks but we made it to 34 years old so far. I love her very much. We are like two peas in a pod. My parents used to call us the giggle twins. We also had our own language when we were babies.


My parents had six children all together. Three years after Jess and I were born, my parents completed the family with one more boy. There are four girls and two boys total. The men are the oldest, youngest and are ten years apart. The ladies are all in the middle. Three of us are left-handed and three of us are right-handed. We all get along pretty well now that we are in our 30’s and early 40’s. We all grow together, argue together, hang out at parks together and swim together. We are a loving, outgoing, and pretty comical. We all have our own personalities which compliment each other well. I am very proud of my family.

Growing up, Jess and I didn’t have many friends. Something about twins creeped some out. people  I felt like people thought that because there were two of us, we weren’t unique. People picked on us, especially on the bus. They would throw paper at us and call us names. In sixth grade I had a small group of friends but not many. It wasn’t until eighth grade that I started making friends. When we started High school at Aspen Valley High, my older sister was already at the school, so we made a lot of friends really fast. I transferred to Air Academy high school on base my senior year and graduated in 2001.

My mom is my hero. She was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis (MS) when she was 30. If you’re not familiar with this auto immune disease, it causes plaque to attach to the nerves in the brain causing the body to lose certain functions. The outcome is usually not being able to walk. There are a few different types of MS and eventually it causes death. When my mom had her first flair-up, the doctors told her she would never walk again.  However, where there is a will, there is a way, and she worked really hard to prove them wrong. She has had several attacks since her first one. Every time she gets back up and learns to walk again, among other things. We have attended many walks for the cure. Every year our turn out gets bigger and bigger. She truly is an inspiration to us all.My parents started an alarm company when I was younger. I think they did pretty well balancing work and family.  I’m sure it was hard at first, but they made it work. Half of the kids currently work for them and help hold the fort down, including me.

We went on a lot of trips in elementary school. Most places we went to were Mexico, South Carolina, and Florida. My favorite trips were on the cruises because we got to see many different places in one vacation.They also had activities to do along with soooo much food. Mexico was pretty cool also. I enjoyed the pools at the resorts we stayed in. They were always so big and refreshing. We usually went on trips when it was cold in Colorado.

My parents purchased a few beach houses in Myrtle beach, South Carolina. They started out with just one for a vacation home. Gradually they moved up to seven or eight beach houses. So if you’re looking for a spot there, check out our beach houses here.  http://northmyrtlebeachrentalproperty.com.I love going there to see family as well as the beach. I’m due for another trip now that we have a new member in our family.

Now we are all older and most of us have children. Altogether there are 13 grandchildren. The oldest is now 20 and the two youngest are four months and two months old. Aren’t they adorable? Not to toot our own horns, but we are so blessed that all of the grandchildren are beautiful. We aren’t sure if there will be more grandchildren or not. Most of us are at capacity.

My days are now filled with running around for my daughter’s after school activities and quality time with my family. We love to be active outside. I try to find one thing cool to do on the weekends that will help build us as a family and try to forget about all the stress from school and work. We recently went to cave of the winds (which will be my next writing piece). Bike riding and family walks are a few of our favorite things to do. My dear husband bought us all expensive bikes so we try to get our money’s worth. Now that it’s getting colder, it’s harder to get out.

I also like to volunteer. Something about helping others is food for my soul. I have volunteered at several places.

  • My old church- The Gathering
  • The Pregnancy center- They have a life steps program for new and expectant mothers. It is a wonderful program. Something that I want to do in life is protect children who can’t protect themselves. Children are my passion.
  • My daughter’s school, Kindergarten to Third grade- Her third grade teacher didn’t use parent helpers so that was a sad day for me.
  • I currently volunteer at Discovery Church of Colorado (DCC)- they have ‘the blast’ AKA kid zone. I volunteer mostly in my son’s class (two-year olds are easy) but if they need me in other areas I am flexible.

My goal in life is to make sure my kids are happy and healthy. I am not perfect by any means, but I strive to be a better person, wife, mother, daughter and Sister. Now you know a little about me. I want to hear from you, my readers. Please reply and tell me a little about yourself. Thank you for visiting my page.

Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Baskerville 2 by Anders Noren.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar